Lakme Makeup Pro App – Review

 

L

In an episode of MTV’s very first season of India’s Next Top Model, the contestants were seen tip-tapping on a tablet, testing the remarkable features of the Lakme Makeup Pro app by Hindustan Unilever Ltd. (a widely trusted company whose brands Indians swear by). I was enamoured. I mean you apply makeup… but you don’t. Get what I mean? No? Wait, I’ll be glad to elucidate.

For starters, the app is free on Android. So yesterday I nicked my mom’s phone to download it. Isn’t available on iOS yet, so couldn’t get it on mine. Why you do this Lakme? *cries* It opens up in front-camera mode where your camera becomes a mirror. You can then virtually try out Lakme’s latest looks without having to drag your lazy feet to the store. You may:

  • Work on your face in real time
  • Or, simply click a picture then and there
  • Orrr, if you’re not camera-ready, you could also select a nice full-face selfie from your gadget gallery instead!

Screenshot_2015-09-27-18-30-18

Time to bash some misconceptions! To all those negative review(er)s –

I’ve read a lot of complaints in the Review section of the app, about certain features ‘not working’ or facial features not getting detected. Well, indeed, some eye makeup features don’t seem to work in real time mode. Try clicking a picture instead. They work fine there! Also there’s an ‘adjust’ option to make life easier. Please take some time and have a little patience. In all fairness, I did have some difficulty too. It does need slight improvement! (Psst, hey, Lakme are you listening?) However, it’s technology, something many don’t understand. It’s best left to the experts. Let’s give Lakme a break and cut them some slack, no? The app is an innovative creation after all! *applauds*

Screenshot_2015-09-27-18-30-38

The Pro Stylist Looks option – You have a variety of pre-set looks which can be sort by:

  • Occasion – Day time, Night out, Minimal Ethnic & Ornate traditional
  • Outfit Colour

There is also a DIY selection of makeup options to choose from:

  • Skin – To de-tan, add gloss, make it radiant
  • Face – To apply a range of blush, compact, mousse, concealer
  • Eyes – From mascara to eyeliner, kohl to kajal, eye shadow et al
  • Lips – My ‘app’solute favourite, the matte range (I’ve tried it on my pictures, which you can see below), sculpt and gloss

My favourite is the intensity adjusting option. I’m a little averse to dressing OTT and couldn’t agree more with Shahrukh Khan who says it’s better to be under-dressed than over-dressed.

You can save/share your final look and view all Lakme products you’ve used. Select your favourite ones to buy directly from their e-commerce partner. Talk about major convenience! Phew!

photo (2)

I strongly recommend giving it a shot! It’s a must try!

Lakme Absolute Lip Pout Matte - Raving Red

Lakme Absolute Lip Pout Matte – Raving Red (*random thought* It makes my teeth look whiter!)

 

Lakme Absolute Lip Pout Matte - Pink Fantasy (which happens to be my favourite)

Lakme Absolute Lip Pout Matte – Pink Fantasy (Which happens to be my favourite)

 

Lakme Absolute Lip Pout Matte - Starlet Red

Lakme Absolute Lip Pout Matte – Starlet Red

 

Lakme Absolute Lip Pout Matte - Tangerine (Yes, the lip colour matches the curtains. Oopsie!)

Lakme Absolute Lip Pout Matte – Tangerine Touch (Yes, the lip colour matches the curtains behind. Oopsie!)

 

Lakme Absolute Lip Pout Matte - Victorian Rose

Lakme Absolute Lip Pout Matte – Victorian Rose

 

Lakme Absolute Lip Pout Matte - Magenta Magic

Lakme Absolute Lip Pout Matte – Magenta Magic

The reason I instantly took to this App was mainly due to the ease of use. Honestly, I’ve always been comfortable with my no-makeup look but have been trying to ‘learn’ the basics since some time now. The Lakme Makeup Pro App was probably just the push I needed. Thanks for making the experience so wonderful!

Lakme’s sure managed to convert me. Kudos Lakme, I see what you did there 😉

Leave a Reply

