The Man Bun

One insomniac night this week, lying in bed and going through my Instagram feed, I came across a picture of our very own gabru Punjabi munda, Karan Kundra in this surprising new avatar. I let-slip my phone which landed smack on my face *ouch* Hey, don’t you laugh! You would’ve done the same, it is that beautiful. Look!

photo 1 (1)

His Instagram has had regular updates in the past week with pictures of him flaunting this stunning top knot. He’s currently in Hong Kong shooting with Sana Saeed, for an all new season of Life Mein Ek Baar, on Fox Life India. So does that mean we get to see him look amazing like this on the show? Woohoo!

Honestly, I’ve disliked the long-locks look on men, I’m all for short hair. Even John Abraham’s flowing tresses at one point, couldn’t impress me. (My opinion, though you probably don’t care.) I’ve had a recent change of mind, though. There’s no denying that the few men who can actually pull it off are jaw-dropping, head turners.

See what I mean?

See what I mean?

Earlier this year, Shahid Kapoor was seen rocking the top-knot in Dubai. After the buzz cut in Haider, his lustrous mane’s all grown out and ready for Udta Punjab. (The upcoming film also stars Alia Bhatt, Kareena Kapoor and Diljit Dosanjh – who makes his Bollywood debut) Grow on, Shahid! No complaints hair… Err… here!

shahid_kapoor_0_0

In this exclusive photo shoot with MW (Man’s World) Magazine for their April edition, Shahid looks incredible. *phew* Is the AC in here even working?!

Is it hot, or is it hot?

Is this hot, or is this hot?

Just FYI, there’s a difference between a man bun and a top knot. The former is, simply, long hair tied back in a bun. The top knot is a combination of a man bun and an undercut where the sides are shot and the hair in the middle is long enough to tie up. They clearly aren’t meant for everyone so steer clear, unless you have the flair, flamboyance and looks to carry it off.

Speaking of panache, here you go – Hrithik Roshan wearing the man bun. What can this guy NOT do, Greek God of Bollywood that he is!

Such beauty! *cries*

Such beauty! *cries*

The word ‘God’ reminds me – Bollywood’s demigod Shahrukh Khan sported the man bun in Don. Many did not quite approve of it. Neither did I. (Just saying.) You’ve got to admit though, that SRK knows how to rock everything that’s thrown his way! There’s a reason he’s the ‘Betaj Badshah’. The King Khan. Whatever Shahrukh Khan does is cool. Just because.

Shush, no one questions the King

Shush, no one questions the King

All this drooling, umm, Googling – who said drooling? Me? Nah! – takes me back to a tiny incident that occured recently. So, there I was waiting at the bus stop, staring into space and minding my own business, when I saw two impeccably dressed men. One of them sported a beard and a super neat top bun. I can’t recollect how many buses I missed or who walked past me or where I was or even who I was, until they were out of sight. It’s crazy I know but that’s an extremely rare sight in my city.

We need more Bollywood hunks picking up this trend and NOW! I believe Ranveer Singh, with his adorable eccentricity, will carry it off with aplomb! The Pogonophile in me also believes we need a word for ‘an admirer of man buns’.

Let me know what you think about the man bun & topknot. Yay or nay? Which Indian celebrity would you love to see sporting such a hairstyle?

Till then let’s hair – hear – it for these handsome celebrities! Round of applause toh Bun-ta hai na, boss!

Bradley (Brad) Cooper

Bradley (Brad) Cooper

Orlando Bloom

Orlando Bloom

Shia LaBeouf

Shia LaBeouf

Jared Leto

Jared Leto

Chris Hemsworth

Chris Hemsworth

Brad Pitt

Brad Pitt

David Beckham

David Beckham

Aaaanddd…

Zayn Malik - Who would believe the lad is only 22 years old?

Zayn Malik – Who would believe the lad is only 22 years old?

One thought on “The Man Bun

  1. LOL ZAYN MALIK looks soooooooooooooooo bad in that pic, awesome post kash, hmmm i think i will lokk good with the top knot l;ol kidding, hmmmm Sid Malhotra could pull anything off nd also aditya roy kapoor

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

